Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

And it goes on - How do I fix a missing repository

Long Haired David
I am obviously out of the loop when it comes to all of this repository stuff. 

So, I have imported my 8.0 code into 9.0 but I can’t add an extension method to ScaledDecimal because a repository is missing. I check what to do and get sent to Iceberg. Somehow, as a newbie, I am supposed to understand how iceberg works but, being a 76 year old VAST Smalltalker, I don’t. Surely, when I install 9.0, qashouldn’t I get everything I need for a basic image?

What do I do next. Attached is a screenshot of Iceberg.

David
David
Totally Objects
Doing Smalltalk since 1989
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: And it goes on - How do I fix a missing repository

Esteban Lorenzano
Hi,

I am sorry, but why you need a repository to add an extension methods?
To add an extension, the easiest way to open calypso and put your method in ScaledDecimal. Then you can use the menu right clicking on the method you added :

The fact that you need a repository to save  those changes later is completely orthogonal to your problem :)

cheers!
Esteban

On Jun 1 2021, at 5:26 pm, David Pennington <[hidden email]> wrote:

So, I have imported my 8.0 code into 9.0 but I can’t add an extension method to ScaledDecimal because a repository is missing. I check what to do and get sent to Iceberg. Somehow, as a newbie, I am supposed to understand how iceberg works but, being a 76 year old VAST Smalltalker, I don’t. Surely, when I install 9.0, qashouldn’t I get everything I need for a basic image?

David
Reply | Threaded
|

Stéphane Ducasse
To fix a missing repo you follow iceberg you click on the repair menu item of the project.
Iceberg will then propose some several different ways (explained) and sorted by order of probability that they will solve your problem.