classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Ban JS files from version control

Markus Kahl
Hey!

I'm about to start a new project (a game) in the browser and I didn't feel like writing Javascript again.
So I looked around and found Amber. Looks nice. I really like Smalltalk.

So I started playing with it. First thing I noticed was that in the amber repository not only the Smalltalk but also the Javascript files are under version control. I imagine this must be a pain in the ass to merge. Especially when all that really should be relevant is the Smalltalk source and not the derived Javascript source, or am I missing something here?

The ultimate goal is not having any Javascript files under version control.

For starters I would be happy to have this only for my own files outside of Amber. Then again I'm definitely going to change Amber Kernel classes too in the course of my project to add fancy methods all over the place. So ultimately it would be good if this was supported for all loaded files.

Anyway I started pimping my fork of Amber.
So if someone else commits a new file to our project it will show up as a new .st file.
The JS is in .gitignore. For me to be able to run it it has to be compiled first.
So that's what I did. If amber.js tries loading files like this:

<script type="text/javascript"> 
  loadAmber({
    deploy: false, // only works in dev mode obviously since we need the compiler
    files: ['MyGame', 'MyGame-Support'],
    prefix: 'game/js'
  }); 
</script>

With only MyGame.js in game/js but with both MyGame.st and MyGame-Support.st in game/st