Beginners question: How do you work with Moose?

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Beginners question: How do you work with Moose?

Meinert Schwartau
Hi,

I'm new to Moose and Pharo and have some problems to get started. So how do you work with the moose panel?

For instance, I want to get all packages for all classes of the argouml showcase. I do this like this:

1. Select "All classes"
2. Look in the Meta-Panel which methods are available
3. Enter "self allPackages" in evaluator and execute "Do it and Go"
4. => The result shows 0

The same for allModelPackages. 

I wonder what's the difference between allPackages and allModelPackages and why both return a result of zero. I would expect to get of all the packages the classes are in.

If I do the same for the methods:

1. Select "All classes"
3. Enter "self allMethods" in evaluator and execute "Do it and Go"
4. => The result shows 23k methods
5. Now I wanted to look at meta panel which methods are available but I don't see any method related except averageNumberOfInvocations and so on. The reason seems to be that the result is of type FAMIXMethodGroup. How to get from the group to the model for the methods so that I can access the parameter list of the methods and so on?

So how do you know which methods you can call, do you use the meta panel as well? Why do some methods return an empty result (like allPackages) even though they seem to be valid and should return a result? How to get to the content of a group?
Is there a more efficient way to work with moose or is this the way you work with it? How do you investigate these problems if you get some unreasonable return result?

Best regards
Meinert

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Beginners question: How do you work with Moose?

Usman Bhatti
Hi.

On Mon, Jul 11, 2016 at 12:00 AM, Meinert Schwartau <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hi,