C5-2011 | Submission of papers EXTENDED until October 20, 2010

Previous Topic Next Topic
classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view

C5-2011 | Submission of papers EXTENDED until October 20, 2010

Robert Hirschfeld

*** Submission of papers EXTENDED until October 20, 2010 ***

Call for Papers

Ninth International Conference on
Creating, Connecting and Collaborating through Computing
(C5 2011)

18-20 January 2011

Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan


Computers, networks, and other forms of technology are pervasive in our
information-based society. Unfortunately, most users of this technology use it
for passive consumption of information and entertainment. To evolve into a
true knowledge society it is critical that we transform computer-based human
activities to engage users in the active process of creating, connecting, and
collaborating together.

The C5 conference is for anyone interested in the use of computers as tools to
develop and enable user-oriented creation, connection, and collaboration
processes. Researchers, developers, educators and users come together at C5 to
present new and ongoing work and to discuss future directions for creative
computing and multimedia environments. We welcome the submission of
theoretical and technical papers, practitioner/experience reports, and papers
that bridge the gap between theory and practice or that encourage inter- and
cross-disciplinary study.

=== Submissions ===

C5 invites submissions of full papers in (but not limited to) the following

* Technology-enhanced human-computer and human-human interaction
* Multimedia authoring environments
* New technologies for literature, music and the visual arts
* Virtual worlds and immersive environments
* Gaming/entertainment platforms and infrastructure
* Social networks and social networking
* Novel programming paradigms and languages for implementors
* Scripting or visual paradigms and languages for end-users
* Creating and maintaining online communities
* Tools for creating/managing online services/environments
* Distributed and collaborative working
* Educational environments for classroom, field work and online/distance
* Technologies for collaborative and self-empowered learning
* Social and cultural implications of new technologies

Papers should be submitted electronically in PDF format via EasyChair at:


Submissions must be written in English (the official language of the
conference) and must not exceed eight (8) pages. They should use the IEEE
10-point two-column format, templates for which are available at:


=== Proceedings ===

A preliminary version of the proceedings will be distributed during the
conference. The formal version of the proceedings will be published by the
Conference Publishing Services (CPS) and sent to authors after the conference.
For each accepted paper, at least one of the authors needs to attend the
conference and deliver the presentation; otherwise the paper will not be
included in the formal proceedings.

=== Dates ===

Submission of papers: October 20, 2010
Author notification: November 19, 2010
Camera-ready copy: December 19, 2010
Conference: January 18-20, 2011

=== Organization ===

Honorary Co-Chairs
- Alan Kay, Viewpoints Research Institute, USA
- Makoto Nagao, National Diet Library, Japan

Conference Co-Chairs
- Hajime Kita, Kyoto University, Japan
- Ian Piumarta, Viewpoints Research Institute, USA/Kyoto University, Japan

Program Co-Chairs
- Robert Hirschfeld, Hasso Plattner Institute Potsdam, Germany
- Serge Stinckwich, Institut de Recherche pour le Développement, Vietnam

Publicity and Publication Chair
- Hideyuki Takada, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
- Conference Secretariat/Local Arrangements
- Hitomi Takada, Kyoto University, Japan

Program Committee
- Sheldon Brown, UC San Diego, USA
- Amy Bruckman, Georgia Tech, USA
- Alec Dara-Abrams, Kinnexxus, Inc, USA
- Benoit Gaudou, University of Toulouse, France
- Chigeru Chiba, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
- Michael Haupt, Hasso-Plattner-Institut, Germany
- Andy Kellens, VUB Brussels, Belgium
- Hidehiko Masuhara, The University of Tokyo, Japan
- Kim Mens, University, Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
- Oscar Nierstrasz, University of Berne, Switzerland
- Yoshiki Ohshima, Viewpoints Research Institute, USA
- Andreas Schmeil, Palo Alto Research Center, USA
- Larry Smarr, UC San Diego, USA
- Lance A. Strate, Fordham University, USA
- Naoko Tosa, Kyoto University, Japan

Advisory Chairs

- Benay Dara Abrams, Kinnexxus, Inc., USA
- Kim Rose, Viewpoints Research Institute, USA
- Katsumi Tanaka, Kyoto University, Japan