classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Capturing messages

Alejandro Pulver
Hello,

I would like to intercept all messages sent in the system, as part of a small project to investigate if the information can be used in useful ways (autocompletion, object compatibility detection, etc).

It will also involve filtering, aggregating and enabling/disabling it for space and time conservation,

I'm new to Pharo, but had some success by changing the main perform (perform:withArguments: IIRC) method in Object, and making others use it instead of the primitives.
Someone told me it doesn't capture most messages because of optimizations done by the system.

My other thought was to use the profiler's spyOn as an approximation.

What do you think?

Thanks in Advance,
Alejandro
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Capturing messages

Paul DeBruicker
Maybe you should use MethodWrappers.

http://forum.world.st/MethodWrappers-td3829576.html

On 09/23/2013 09:56 AM, Alejandro Pulver wrote:

> Hello,
>
> I would like to intercept all messages sent in the system, as part of a
> small project to investigate if the information can be used in useful
> ways (autocompletion, object compatibility detection, etc).
>
> It will also involve filtering, aggregating and enabling/disabling it
> for space and time conservation,
>
> I'm new to Pharo, but had some success by changing the main perform
> (perform:withArguments: IIRC) method in Object, and making others use it
> instead of the primitives.
> Someone told me it doesn't capture most messages because of
> optimizations done by the system.
>
> My other thought was to use the profiler's spyOn as an approximation.
>
> What do you think?
>
> Thanks in Advance,
> Alejandro

Reply | Threaded
|

Alejandro Pulver
Thanks for the reply, but the links mentioned in the forum are down. Also, I would a solution that works in Pharo 2.