Client-server communication over SST - how server detect communication broken? And connection stability.

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Client-server communication over SST - how server detect communication broken? And connection stability.

Wayne Johnston
As documentation states, our client-server (over SST; Windows) applications have long added a callback for SstDisconnectCallback in order to detect the communication link being broken.  But I've found it doesn't always work on the server.

If I break the communication link, the client instantly knows via the SstDisconnectCallback.  But the server doesn't get the callback, even waiting hours.

If instead I use the Task Manager to kill the client, the server does get the callback.  I am no expert but I think this means that the server gets the callback only because something on the client machine actively sends something to the server, or something happens at the socket level.  Something that doesn't get to happen if I break the communication link (in my case, by terminating my laptop's VPN connection to the server).

Running tcpview, on the client machine I see ports being used including one to the server's port.  But on the server, tcpview shows no hint that the client is connected.  I am guessing this is why if the communication link is cut, the callback doesn't happen in the server.

So, what is the best practice for the server to deterministically know when the client is no longer there?  Having the client regularly ping the server, and the server knows the client is gone if it doesn't get a ping in a certain time?

We do have a second communication path in the opposite direction, say for the server at any time to tell the client to put up a popup.  The server could ping clients this way, but some customers have this lesser used communication path blocked.