classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
8 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Collision detection, only one object detects the collision

Carl Cravens
Hi there!

I'm a professional developer, and recently discovered Etoys while looking for a language/environment suitable for my 9-year-old son to learn to code in.  (These kids raised on Flash games don't seem to want to write programs with boring text-based interfaces.)  Scratch is really cool, but it quickly became too limiting.  Etoys, while a little less inviting than Scratch, has a lot of power hidden under the hood once you manage to find it.  Many thanks to those who have made it happen... I've been having a lot of fun with it.

I've been writing a space-invaders clone (one of my first video games; I'm 41), and it's going pretty well... I've got dynamically created siblings for the invaders, and they change costumes (for the "marching" animation and the explosion) selected from a Holder, the "bullets" are dynamically created siblings.  The shields are stamped onto the playfield, and when a bullet collides with one, an "explosion" the same color as the playfield is stamped onto the bullet's location to erase part of the shield.  All of that is working very nicely.

But I'm having a problem with collision detection between the bullets and the invaders.  The invaders don't actively watch for collisions.  Each bullet does collision detection on each move, and I'm using the "bullet overlaps any invader" test.  When it collides with an invader, it fires the "am I hit?" script on all invader siblings, so each invader checks to see if it's the one that's been hit.  (I can't figure out how to find a handle for the object I've collided with so I can send it a message directly.  That would be useful.)

But here's the problem: