classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

EmbeddedValueOneToOneMapping that returns nil when all embedded columns are nil

jtuchel
HI again,

I've been using Glorp quiet happily for a few months, you can see that in the frequency of posts to this forum ;-)

But now I have a question.

I am using an EmbeddedValueOneToOneMapping to map two date columns to a TimeSpan- or Period-kind of Class (Zeitraum in German), which has a startDate and an endDate.
Here is an exaple mapping:

(aDescriptor newMapping: EmbeddedValueOneToOneMapping)
        attributeName: #membershipPeriod;
        fieldTranslation: (
            (Join new)
                addSource: (table fieldNamed: 'membership_start')
                    target: ((self tableNamed: 'ZEITRAUM_EMBEDDED') fieldNamed: 'startDate');
                addSource: (table fieldNamed: 'membership_end')
                    target: ((self tableNamed: 'ZEITRAUM_EMBEDDED') fieldNamed: 'endDate');
                yourself).

This works great - until today. It seems I always only hat timespans that at least have a startDate. But now I need to use it for a table/class in which both start and end date can be NULL. In that case, I'd like to habe a #membershipPeriod of nil rather than a Period with both dates being nil.

I am sure there is some way to tell this embedded mapping to check such situations. I tried beOuterJoin, but that didn't help.

I hope I've explained my use case well and somebody here can help me

Joachim

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "glorp-group" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to [hidden email].
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/glorp-group/be037b6a-dde2-44a5-ae5e-97acec3116bc%40googlegroups.com.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: EmbeddedValueOneToOneMapping that returns nil when all embedded columns are nil