Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

: Etoys 5.0 question

narayans
In the context of a previous project, we had added support for Vernier LabPro devices to Etoys. I am in the process of porting that code to Etoys 5.0. While I am familiar with Etoys, I am new to Smalltalk, so please pardon my ignorance.

> I was able to add FFI support to my copy of the Etoys 5.0 image. I also have the SqueakFFIPrims.dll file which I believe is what is referred to as the FFI plugin. Once all that was done, I was able to file in the Vernier LabPro code without any errors and instantiate a LabPro morph.
>
> When I open the viewer on the LabPro morph, it has the additional category named "labpro" that we added. However, there is nothing visible under this category. Normally, this is where the inputs from the analog channels on the LabPro would be available. Without this, I cannot test if the LabPro works with Etoys 5.0.  I have checked the additionsToViewerCategories method in the LabPro class, and all the code for adding channel1, channel2 etc, which correspond to the various analog channels on the LabPro, to the labpro category is there.

> Any help is much appreciated.
>
> Thanks,
> Sridhar
> ________________________________________
> From: Bert Freudenberg [[hidden email]] On Behalf Of Bert Freudenberg [[hidden email]]
> Sent: Monday, May 21, 2012 4:24 PM
> To: Narayan, Sridhar
> Subject: Re: Etoys 5.0 question
>
> Hi Sridhar,
>
> you are right, http://source.squeak.org/FFI is the right place. You need to use Monticello to install first FFI-Pools and then FFI-Kernel. Also you need the FFI plugin of course, which we do not include with Etoys for security reasons.
>
> If you can't figure out how to do it, please subscribe to this mailing list, where not only I can help you, but many other community members, too:
>