classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

GUI Frameworks Choice

Adventurer
Hi All,

I'm new to Pharo although not to Smalltalk.  I did dabble with Dolphin about 20 years ago, when it was first being developed, and did some quite cool stuff.

This time around I chose Pharo because I feel that Dolphin has strayed from the pure OO model that I enjoyed back then.

I've chosen a fairly ambitious GUI project as my Pharo primer.  The problem is - which GUI framework to use.  The GUI that I want to build will be static but complex with a menu, 2 toolbars, 20 odd toolbar buttons, and 3 (dockable?) windows, containing Trees, lists and text editors.

Any suggestions on which GUI framework would suit?

I thought about using PolyMorph, but I cannot find the examples in my Pharo 3 image.

Craig

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: GUI Frameworks Choice

kilon.alios
Pharo has a single AFAIK GUI API , Morphic. Anything else uses Morphic to draw its own widgets so those API are more like helper apis . Which means a good knowledge of morphic will always benefit you. Spec is the new kid in the block and it has been a preferred choice for most pharoers , many pharo widgets that come distributed with pharo are built with Spec. Also Spec is the most documented one with a dedicated chapter at Pharo for the Enterprise book. 

On experimental side there is Mars , never tried myself , it gives access to GTK and native gui APIs. 

I have also tried to port pyQT to pharo via my project Ephestos, I have run to some problems because QT is very touchy with threads and its also inside a blocking event loop but I have found some workarounds. Cant say when but I will bring QT to Pharo sooner or later. 

So my advice would be to give Spec a try for now. 

On Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 10:11 AM, Craig <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hi All,