classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Hello ESUG!

Antony Blakey-3
Hi All,

I hope it's OK to post 'available for work' notices here. Apologies in advance if I have crossed the line.

I have recently left Cincom, where I designed and developed the UISkinning system that has greatly improved the UI of VisualWorks. I also worked on UILayout, which is not yet used in the product.

Most recently I have been contracted to look at porting VisualWorks to iOS and Android/Blackberry (in short - it's entirely doable).

I have in the past worked in both Pharo and Dolphin.

I am currently looking for employment, and would love to travel. In particular, my family has been wanting to move to Europe for several years now, primarily for cultural reasons, but we are open to virtually anywhere. I am also prepared to move alone for shorter term engagements.

I have a lot of experience outside of Smalltalk, which I have found is of interest to many employers when coupled with my Smalltalk background. For example: I owned a venture-capital-funded web development company with 30 employees, so I have extensive front- and back-end web experience, in addition to considerable functional programming experience in a variety of languages.

As far as local language is concerned, I have rudimentary spoken and written German. I believe I could become functionally fluent after three months of immersion in just about any language - I have a background in linguistics, specifically computational morpho-tactics and second-language acquisition, and I am keen to put my so-far-academic knowledge to the test! In particular I have studied Germanic (German and Dutch), Scandinavian (Swedish, Danish, Norwegian, and Icelandic), French, Spanish, Finnish, Indonesian/Malay, Arabic, and Korean, as well as the somewhat less practical Esperanto, Latin and Sanskrit :)