classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Hello

Srinivas JONNALAGADDA
Hello!

My name is JONNALAGADDA Srinivas (known as `JS').  I am new to Redline, and this is my first post here.  James Ladd and all the contributors are filling an important gap -- a gap that a completed and supported Bistro could have filled (alas)!

(1) I have read some of the threads that discuss the differences in development models (and philosophies) of Smalltalk and Java.  IMHO, a purist Smalltalk approach that is image-oriented will not help a wider adoption of Redline.  I agree with James that a file-oriented environment is very important to have, when working in the Java world.  A most important reason is the existing Java tooling infrastructure.

(2) A quick glance has (so far) not helped me understand how Redline deals with Java interfaces.  Do interfaces show in the superclass hierarchy?  Or do they have a different mechanism w.r.t. isKindOf: and isMemberOf:?  Some illustration would help.  Thanks.

(3) Protocols with code (a la traits, only more) and mixins are good areas to explore in these early stages.  It is usually very difficult to bolt them on later.  Gilad Bracha's Newspeak could be an interesting reference -- it is more general: any class can be mixed-in!

-- |0|0|
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Hello

James Ladd
Welcome JS,

Bistro was one of my inspirations for Redline!
More responses are inline below.

I look forward to more posts from you.

- James.

On Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 4:36 PM, Srinivas JONNALAGADDA <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hello!

My name is JONNALAGADDA Srinivas (known as `JS').  I am new to Redline, and this is my first post here.  James Ladd and all the contributors are filling an important gap -- a gap that a completed and supported Bistro could have filled (alas)!