Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Help in thinking about how to save a "program"

ghoetker
Hi all.  I’m new to Pharo and loving it.  As I transition from a text-file based mindset, I’m a little stuck and would appreciate help in how to think about a situation in a Pharonic (Pharo-ish, Pharoc?) way.

I”m crafting a short program to help me process a large text file (specifically: extract, sorting, and regularizing the “keyword” fields of a large BibTex file). Especially since I don’t really know what I’m doing, working in a Playground has been a great development environment.  Now that the program is complete (under 30 lines, wonderful), I want to be able to save it for future reference (and perhaps for future use).  If I’d written a shell script, I’d just save “fixBibDeskKeyWords.sh” to a directory. I’m not sure what to do in the Pharo environment, thought.

At the moment, it just lives in the Playground I’ve developed it on.  I could save the image and leave that Playground open, but I’m just positive that’s not a best practice. I also worry about what happens if I closed/cleared that Playground by accident.

I think I understand that, if I created a new package, I could use Monticello to save it to a local cache and load it into a new image whenever I needed it.  But, given that it’s short, highly specialized and fairly linear, the idea of creating a “GHBibDeskStuff” package with one class (“GBibDeskKeywordFixer” containing a single “FixFile” method seems really heavy and awkward.

Can one save the contents of a Playground in a Pharonic way?  Is there a better approach?

Thank you to all involved in this wonderful programming ecosystem. I appreciate any advice.

Glenn
Glenn Hoetker
ghoetker@me.com
http://hoetker.faculty.asu.edu
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Help in thinking about how to save a "program"

philippeback