classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

How do you pass arrays via UFFI?

rm201708
This post was updated on .
I am a newbie to Pharo and therefore UFFI usage. My goal is to use Pharo as a bridge to some functionality in a shared dynamic library. I am working in 64Bit Linux with Pharo 6 and trying to use UFFI. Documentation seems to be sparse on the usage of UFFI. I have reviewed the UFFI Booklet, which only has a place holder for an Array example and I have reviewed a presentation on UFFI usage. In addition a search of the mailing list has not given me enough information to move forward.

What I am looking for is an example/template to use for passing arrays, but to make a concrete example. I am trying to send 2 arrays of unsigned machine sized integers to the shared library, the code for my last failed attempt...

jaccard_similarity: aVector1 anotherVector: aVector2
        | ffiVec1 ffiVec2 |
        ffiVec1 := FFIExternalArray externalNewType: 'FFISizeT' size: aVector1 size.
        1 to: aVector1 size do: [ :i | ffiVec1 at: i put: (aVector1 at: i) ].
        ffiVec2 := FFIExternalArray externalNewType: 'FFISizeT' size: aVector2 size.
        1 to: aVector2 size do: [ :i | ffiVec2 at: i put: (aVector2 at: i) ].
        ^ self
                ffiCall: #(double jaccard_similarity #(FFISizeT * ffiVec1 , FFISizeT * ffiVec2)) module: '/pathto/libextern_dynlib.so'

In this particular incarnation, the error I get is "Could not find accessor for variable name "ffVec1" So okay, I "Proceed" anyway and, not suprisingly, get the same error for "ffVec2".

It may seem obvious in the error message what the issue is; however, I am a newbie so it is not so obvious to me.