classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Just another struggling newbie

Chip Nowacek-3
Hello everyone,

While I should have introduced myself before I ran into trouble, it is trouble that has brought me here. I guess I'm glad something provided the excuse to meet you.

First, a short introduction...

I'm really new to Smalltalk. Kent Beck said it's a good choice for my project. Technically, I come from the database architecture world - though I am more entrepreneur now than techie. I'm starting up a new company and Kent suggested building a prototype myself instead of bringing someone else in - so here I am. I'm trying to move from Squeak because Pharo feels a little more developer oriented. We'll see how it goes.

To the matter: I don't understand why I can't accept a change to my comment in one of my classes. When I try to accept in the OB Package Browser, about a dozen calls in, #Utility is being sent #changeStamp and doesn't understand it. I am in the midst of sorting through the stack trying to figure out what happened. As you might imagine, it's a little discouraging for such a basic function to blow up. What makes it worse, I'm probably the cause of the problem - I just don't know what I screwed up. I am working in Pharo 1.1.1 and have loaded Magma and O2 per:

DEVImageWorkspaces openExternalProjectWorkspace

I created a package for my stuff according to that which I have read so far. Maybe I did that correctly. My classes are in a category within that package.

With introductions complete, I don't intend my future posts to be so long-winded. Thanks for whatever patience you've been able to afford me.

Chip
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Just another struggling newbie

Max Leske
Hi Chip. Welcome to the list.