Manuscript (Case [Issue]22477) Debugging - DelayScheduler cleanup and refactoring

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Manuscript (Case [Issue]22477) Debugging - DelayScheduler cleanup and refactoring

Pharo Issue Tracker
Manuscript Notification
Ben Coman revised a previous entry on Case 22477: DelayScheduler cleanup and refactoring:
Bug in Project:  Debugging: 1. Pharo Image  •  You are subscribed to this case
This is my long promised cleanup of the delay scheduling system.  I've been polishing some minor points for a few months and its time to put it out for review.

My original refactoring of the class-side code inherited from Squeak had left alone the mutex variable in parent class even though it was no longer used.

Now at the top level there is DelayNullScheduler which does nothing but define the minimum interface required to prevent errors in the rest of the system.
Subclassed from that is DelayBasicScheduler which provides the main algorithm without synchronization protection. This works fine but is fragile to changes in process scheduling semantics.
Subclassed from that are two classes add synchronization: DelayMutexScheduler and DelaySemaphoreScheduler.
I hope this arrangement helps highlight the separate aspects of the system.

I believe the existing code has a
risky possible corner case related to suspending the delay scheduler for shutDown during a snapshot.  
The
Its  accessProtect mutex only protects against blocks calls from user code and not from the VM waking up the timingPriority loop to potentially expire delays at a higher priority than the snapshot process.
I've replaced that with semaphore immediately following the timingSemaphore suspension point in #timingPiorityRunEventLoop to guarantee
the a VM can't wake up the loop can't signal expired delays .