New to Pharo. "Could not coerce arguments" (Problem with character encoding?) + Learning resources?

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
2 messages Options
M O
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

New to Pharo. "Could not coerce arguments" (Problem with character encoding?) + Learning resources?

M O

Hi,

I’m new to Pharo, and generally, in programming. I decided that my first programming language is going to be Pharo. However I have encountered some issues when I was exploring some examples. I don’t want them to bother me later, so I’d like them to be resolved as soon as possible.

Some info:

OS: Windows 8.1, language Polish, Pharo version: 7 stable 64, Pharo Launcher installed in C:\PharoLauncher, images and VMs located in C:\users\<user>\Documents\...

My Windows account (admin user) username contains non-ASCII character (“Ł”). I tested all cases below on account with only ASCII characters (“Administrator”) and they all work just fine. Therefore I strongly suspect the main source of issues is character encoding but I have no idea how to solve it or if it’s actual problem.

Noticed that #1 and #2 fails when attempting to perfom FFI call

Here’s the list of things with issues I encountered:

1. AthensDemoMorph example (Args-1 and Args-2)
  2. Downloading packages from git repository (Git-1 and Git-2)

In second example it goes straight to downloading from git repo, while first throws error

1. Pharo Mooc (Mooc)

Instead of “Ł” there are displayed some “rubbish” characters