classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Out of image IDE

sigipa
Hello All,

I've been playing with Pharo off and on for a few years now. I have thought a lot about where and how I could potentially use it. I have an idea about how I would really like it to work, but up to now I haven't had the chance to pursue it. I think I may even have had a discussion about it with someone on this list at some point. Due to some recent changes in my situation, It looks I may be at a point that I can look into things more seriously. Basically, I want an IDE that exists outside of the image. I want to be able to target multiple vm instances and provide some ipc mechanism for distributed instances. There are also some other interesting possibilities that this architecture could support. I have a couple of questions about this idea.

1. Should I do an MDI interface similar to what is in the image now or an interface with separate windows more like VW?

2. Is there anything that currently exists that involves remote image access that I could leverage as a starting point?

3. Is there anyone that finds the idea interesting at all?

Thanks for your time,
-S
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Out of image IDE

Sean P. DeNigris
Administrator
Forwarding message stuck on Nabble (probably the author is not subscribed to the list)...

sigipa wrote
Hello All,