classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Pharo on iOS w/ faster graphics

jrick
Hi everyone,

I've been lurking a little while here and thought I would jump in to see if Pharo would be appropriate for what I want to do.

First, here's a little background about myself. I'm an academic researcher in human-computer interaction and educational technology. I've been programming in Smalltalk since the early days of Squeak. For those who remember, I wrote Swiki. I'm now doing work on multi-touch interfaces, such as interactive tabletops and tablets. There's a huge difference between designing interfaces for mouse / keyboard and designing for multi-touch. My current research interests are in creating interfaces that are optimized for the latter, rather than the former. Smalltalk is a great environment for that, because you really can rebuild the GUI from the ground up. I've gone ahead and worked off the work that John McIntosh did on iSqueak to create several applications for iPad.

I'm thinking of transitioning from Squeak to Pharo as the current development state of Pharo is a bit cleaner than Squeak. I'm glad to see that there is some interest in getting Pharo on iOS (though there do seem to be problem). I'm not an Objective-C or C expert, so I wouldn't be good at getting the VM to work, but I would be able to go from there to creating some interesting widgets, frameworks, and apps that I could share with the community.