classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
14 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Question on temporal variables in Workspace

nacho
Hi pharoers,
In killion video tutorials I see that he uses variables not declaring them as temporal (that is | aVariable | ).
If one does not declare variables as temporal in a workspace what kind of variables are them?
Also why in the tutorial they appear in blue and in my workspace they appear in red as if there was something wrong? (actually if I declare all variables as temporal using | | then all turn tu blue).
Thanks in advance and best regards
Nacho
Nacho Smalltalker apprentice. Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Question on temporal variables in Workspace

Edward Povazan
I am a bit new to Pharo, anyone please correct me if I am wrong.

The Workspace has a #mustDeclareVariables: method. I am assuming it is set to false by default.
The colour changes once you DoIt on the code, as the variable is automatically created and bound to the workspace, so after running once, it exists. You can see this as the first time when you try inspect a variable, an error occurs. After DoIt, it changes colour, and you can inspect it.

Cheers,
-Edward

> On Dec 27, 2014, at 11:28 AM, nacho <[hidden email]> wrote:
>
> Hi pharoers,
> In killion video tutorials I see that he uses variables not declaring them
> as temporal (that is | aVariable | ).
> If one does not declare variables as temporal in a workspace what kind of
> variables are them?
> Also why in the tutorial they appear in blue and in my workspace they appear
> in red as if there was something wrong? (actually if I declare all variables
> as temporal using | | then all turn tu blue).
> Thanks in advance and best regards
> Nacho
>
>
>
>
> -----
> Nacho
> Smalltalker apprentice.
> Buenos Aires, Argentina.
> --
> View this message in context: http://forum.world.st/Question-on-temporal-variables-in-Workspace-tp4797161.html