classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Sell me smalltalk

MicahJ
Hello All,
Im a dev and the Co. I work for is engaged with a research organisation that uses smalltalk for part of its modelling.
I have yet to get my hands dirty in smalltalk, but it looks interesting so Im on my way.
My question to the group goes something like:  if some guy came to you and said "hey build me some cool stuff in smalltalk" 
what would be any emerging features of the language/technology that you would run with and what would you steer clear of or,  is everything just beautiful as it is?
Next selfish Q is: do you think that there is longevity as a smalltalk developer in the industry or would you be hedging your bets with other modelling technologies.
No offence meant in any way to smalltalk lovers, I'm just trying to get a feel for things. 
Many thanks
Micah

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "VA Smalltalk" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to [hidden email].
To post to this group, send email to [hidden email].
Visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/va-smalltalk.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Sell me smalltalk

jtuchel
Micah,

you are not offending anybody, but you expect the wrong thing. Smalltalk is not in the special effects department ;-)

Am Mittwoch, 11. Februar 2015 03:46:24 UTC+1 schrieb MicahJ:
Hello All,
Im a dev and the Co. I work for is engaged with a research organisation that uses smalltalk for part of its modelling.
I have yet to get my hands dirty in smalltalk, but it looks interesting so Im on my way.