classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Slang definition?

Laurent Julliard

Hi everyone,

Is there some place I can find a document describing what subset of Smalltalk is supported in Slang in its current state?

Thank you.

Laurent
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Slang definition?

Nicolas Cellier

Hi,
I doubt there is a formal specification. i rather see it as very ad hoc.
For retro-engineering purposes, one good starting point for getting an overview is:
CCodeGenerator >> #initializeCTranslationDictionary

Le mar. 15 oct. 2019 à 20:10, Laurent Julliard <[hidden email]> a écrit :

Hi everyone,

Is there some place I can find a document describing what subset of Smalltalk is supported in Slang in its current state?

Thank you.

Laurent
Reply | Threaded
|

Ron Teitelbaum
In reply to this post by Laurent Julliard

Hi Laurent,

I'm no expert in Slang or how much Smalltalk you can use in your slang code. Did you see this: http://wiki.squeak.org/squeak/slang 

Note it says:  The methods in classes such as Interpreter or SlangTests are the best sources to learn about Slang code.  

The examples might make it obvious how much Smalltalk you can use.

All the best,

Ron Teitelbaum

On Tue, Oct 15, 2019 at 2:09 PM Laurent Julliard <[hidden email]> wrote:

Hi everyone,

Thank you.

Laurent
Reply | Threaded
|

Eliot Miranda-2
In reply to this post by Laurent Julliard

Hi Laurent,

On Tue, Oct 15, 2019 at 11:10 AM Laurent Julliard <[hidden email]> wrote:

Hi everyone,

As others have said there isn't a formal definition. It's also a moving target.  I had to add significant type inference facilities to be able to express both a 64-bit and a 32-bit VM with the same set of sources.  I've also extended it to support literal block arguments to a limited extent.  One can't enumerate over objects, but one can supply blocks to iterators.