classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

TROSMTileProvider

Sven Van Caekenberghe-2
Hi Thierry, Onil,

First let me iterate what I wrote last week, the OSM stuff in Roassal is very cool, very well written. Great work.

Since I have some experience with OSM maps, tiles and serving them, I had a look to see if I could optimise the tile drawing/loading, which is visibly a bit slow, one would assume because of the loading of the tiles over the network.

I just committed (based on code that I wrote some time ago):

===
Name: Roassal2-SvenVanCaekenberghe.719
Author: SvenVanCaekenberghe
Time: 28 January 2015, 2:31:50.462461 pm
UUID: 0978fb6a-d6d0-4d86-a9ae-1f2f83a0b6a2
Ancestors: Roassal2-AlexandreBergel.718

Experimental branch.

Introduction of TROSMTileProvider to optimize getting OSM tiles, adds one shared memory cache and a local file system cache, predefines and reuses 6 http clients spread over different hosts.

Modifies TROSMShape>>#getTile: and adds TROSMShape>>#tileNamed:
===

The strange thing is though, that I can optimise the loading (as benchmarked separately), but in most cases (not when they are in the memory cache, but when they are in the file cache) the drawing still has the same pauses as before - which I don't understand, at all. But it is a bit hard to explain.

Anyway, Thierry, I will see you tomorrow and the day thereafter and I hope I can show you what I mean.

Regards,

Sven

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: [Pharo-dev] TROSMTileProvider

Sven Van Caekenberghe-2
Thierry, Onil,

I rounded up my experiments with a 2nd commit on my experimental branch:

===
Name: Roassal2-SvenVanCaekenberghe.720
Author: SvenVanCaekenberghe
Time: 5 February 2015, 3:40:43.211681 pm
UUID: 121ffc22-4a30-4153-bef1-e019a92862bc
Ancestors: Roassal2-SvenVanCaekenberghe.719

Experimental branch. Second version.

Some more changes after discussing with Thierry @ Pharo Days and hours of experimenting