classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Troubles using Pharo 2.0 one-click package on a secured WinXP

Thomas Bany
Hi !

I'm quite new to Smalltalk and and so far, I've used Pharo on a regular XP system and everything went well. I'll add that my image occupy ~40 Mo in memory.

I've recently tried to deploy my small app on the target system which is a very seccured package of WinXP. I can't help much on describing the specificities of the system as I'm just the user. But the system is cleared of unused services, there is a lot of account auditing, temporary files are explicitly written off the disk at logoff and so on.

When launching the VM, I'm offered to choose an image to open and the following happen (I monitor the launching using the task manager) :
¤ The first ~40 Mo are quickly allocated in memory
¤ More memory is slowly allocated to the Pharo.exe process
¤ After ~5 min, 100Mo allocated and counting, I stop the process and never get to see the Pharo GUI

Is there a way for me to trace/dump what the VM is doing and maybe get help here to make my app work ?

Complementary information :
¤ I made a very crappy deployement: due to recent restrictions, I could not download a fresh and clean Pharo image. I picked the cleanest I had used, removed the various tutorial packages I had made (LOCell and stuff ;) and loaded the Monticello package of my little app.
¤ The target system run on a VM (with something like VSphere). My understanding is that we have a cheap virtualization setup which is not adapted at all for XP.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Troubles using Pharo 2.0 one-click package on a secured WinXP

Mariano Martinez Peck

On Tue, Aug 6, 2013 at 6:44 AM, Mun Mun <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hi !

I'm quite new to Smalltalk and and so far, I've used Pharo on a regular XP system and everything went well. I'll add that my image occupy ~40 Mo in memory.