classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Vision

Stéphane Ducasse
Hi guys

Some days ago we were chatting with igor and he made an interesting remark about a kind of hidden philosophy
behind pharo: the idea that we systematically want to make the system better.
In fact I realized that what we are doing is to make a system nice, robust and powerful so that everybody can use
to realize their goals. But we want to have a system where not only smart guys can manage to do something with it but also
less talented people like me (I know that some of you will say but stef you are good, I'm a newbie in a lot of domains but
I learn fast if I can get a chance to avoid to bump on the walls). I want a system that let me learn from itself.
I think that lot of things fall naturally in place from this vision (documentation, oo practices - not having car inheriting from wheel, tests
comments, adequate abstractions, modularity). I want a system that everybody can nicely build his own software.
So in short I want pharo to be like a nice garden with greenhouses for building new garden with tools versus a jungle where
only skilled adventurers can make it through.

Stef
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Vision

garduino
I understand the sense of your words.

And I agree with the need of a more easy to understand/extend
system......I think that is a thing we need in these days, may be with
some helper tools, I don't know, but I hear a lot of times people
saying "No, I had a look to (put here Squeak/Pharo/Dolphin/other
flavour) but was not able of develop anything".

I know most of this sensation has to do with knowledgment about OO
technology, but still if we can have a lower intro barrier, may be
better for a lot of people (myself included of course.... in topics as
.... Morphic :) ).

Just my thoughts.

Another forever newbie: Germán :)

2011/1/29 Stéphane Ducasse <[hidden email]>:

> Hi guys
>