classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

WAApplication and WASession subclassing and expiry, again

Tim Johnson-2
Hi,

The current recommended practice seems to be to subclass WAApplication[1][5][6] especially if one wants to handle session expiration/expiry[2].  One must then register the WAApplication as the application root, and use other tricks (override another method) to get one's component (or task) into the flow [3], it seems.  

I am a student of the HPI book[4] (since many years ago) which trains me to keep all of my application logic (model) in my custom WASession subclass.  If I am to also subclass WAApplication, am I to move all of my application logic to that instead[7]?  

I ask because I am recently dealing with the first Seaside app I have deployed to the wider internet (instead of an intranet), and sessions are not expiring, a'la [4].  They will stick around for days.  My app also seems to lock up after about 24 hours which is getting annoying.  :)     

When I look at implementors and senders of #unregistered[8], I see that perhaps I should now be subclassing WAExpirySession instead of WASession if I want my sessions to expire (or if I want to hook into the expiration process)...?  I cannot find much documentation on the net regarding WAExpirySession.

Also, I am on Seaside 3.2.2 — might it help to upgrade?

Thanks,
Tim

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: WAApplication and WASession subclassing and expiry, again

Tim Johnson-2
Sorry, HPI book link:  http://www.hpi.uni-potsdam.de/hirschfeld/seaside/tutorial

On May 19, 2019, at 9:01 AM, Tim Johnson <[hidden email]> wrote:

Hi,