classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

missing halos & some trouble getting started

Tassilo Philipp
Hello mailing list,

I'm new to seaside and have some questions about the setup, etc.
I'm trying to run Seaside on GNU Smalltalk 3.1 but gst-remote doesn't seem to work correctly on my machine. So I tried to get around that without using gst-remote.

For the sake of completeness, although this isn't a GST mailing list: I tried to follow the 'Seaside on GST' section at the GST website, but the following simple test already fails, and well, pretty much everything I try to --eval fails.

# gst-remote --daemon
gst-remote server started.
# gst-remote --eval '12 factorial'
/usr/local/share/smalltalk/kernel/../scripts/Remote.st:275: Aborted
/usr/local/share/smalltalk/kernel/../scripts/Remote.st:275: Aborted
/usr/local/share/smalltalk/kernel/../scripts/Remote.st:275: Error occurred while not in byte code interpreter!!
Aborted

Well, since this isn't a GST mailing list, let's talk about seaside - for starters I just tried to get seaside running without gst-remote, and this is what I came up with (trying to recreate the simple counter example):

PackageLoader fileInPackage: 'Seaside'.
PackageLoader fileInPackage: 'Seaside-Development'.
PackageLoader fileInPackage: 'Seaside-Examples'.

Seaside.SwazooSeaside startOn: 9999.

Seaside.WAComponent subclass: MyCounter [
        | count |
        MyCounter class >> canBeRoot [ ^true ]

initialize [
                super initialize.
                count := 0.
        ]
        states [ ^{ self } ]
                renderContentOn: html [
                html heading: count.
                html anchor callback: [ count := count + 1 ]; with: '++'.
                html space.
                html anchor callback: [ count := count - 1 ]; with: '--'.
        ]
]

app := MyCounter registerAsApplication: 'mycounter'.
Processor activeProcess suspend