classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

pharo and moose

Haroldo Stenger
hi!

I'm totally new to smalltalk, although I've heard of it since a lot of time ago.

In my arch linux installation, I've found some dificulties running squeak, so I went into pharo once I've discovered they are two free implementations of smalltalk.

Then I wondered myself, How can I do now to put moose into here ? And then I saw that by selecting the proper text in one of the default windows that pharo opens for me, I could have moose (and other subsystems) installed in the image I'm workin on. So I did. 

I've found myself pretty impressed at the ease by which the subsystems get installed. I started installing one of the web development systems, and I got thru the whole automated process without any problems. 

Then I evaluated the code that installs moose. It started running, and run a lot without a problem too. But at some point, some missing methods poped up a window in which I'm asked what to do. At the firsts of them, I put 'proceed' (because I wouldn't abandon, nor debug because I woudn't know what to do), and it proceeded. At some later pop up errors, I was offered a fourth option namely 'create', I did, and put the method I was asked to put somewhere in systembase or some similar name (I can be more precise if needed or asked to), then a code that showed a 'to be implemented' dummy method or something, and then again, asked to proceed, and and did this process a number of times, until  I realized that there were many of them, and I abadoned. And went here, asking for some kind help of you.

I could insist with squeak if that would do better, or go Cuis alternatively (but from what I've read, maybe Cuis would not fit).

I've also read that pharo support from moose is in some development phase. Is that true? So if I'm a beginner I should try it until it's ready.