classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

scaling moose

Tudor Girba-2
Hi,

A topic that was raised recently is the scalability issue of Moose. Indeed, it would be great to have again some traction in this direction.

I think there are a couple of possibilities in this area:

- Gemstone. This is the straightforward idea and it would probably match quite well the FAMIX object-oriented model. The realization might not be that easy because we would need to go through all the details of the language independence. Also, we would need a remote UI, or at least a bridge for Glamour. Perhaps the Seaside interface of Glamour, or another Seaside-based one, would be a good direction.

- Graph DBs. http://neo4j.org/ would be an interesting target here. I have no experience in this area, but I would be very interested in collaborating with someone on this.

- Relational DBs. I know that Marco D'Ambros worked on a solution to map FAMIX meta-descriptions to Glorp in VW. And it seemed to work. I think Alberto Bacchelli is or has used it.

- Fuel. Loading with Fuel is about one order of magnitude faster than loading plain MSE: for example for ArgoUML 0.32 I got 108s for the MSE, and 17s for the Fuel based MSE information. So, having the Fuel export next to the MSE file can be a significant improvement. However, this solution only works when you have computations that treat one model at a time (so, it's not so nice if you have to switch between models all the time). I attached a simple script to analyze the difference between plain MSE loading and Fuel load variations.