10 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

webcam images for image processing

dyfroedd
This post was updated on .
Hi

I'm fairly new to Smalltalk and so impressed with the programming style as it helps me visually understand how the classes are interrelated etc.

I would love to use Smalltalk (Squeak or Pharo) for some image processing. I can create my own processing methods and kernels but have had problems accessing the images from a  webcam. I have stumbled at this most basic step.   Can anyone help me to access a webcam on a mac please?

I have read various intros into Squeak and Pharo but doing something really useful like basic image processing is still a hurdle for me in Smalltalk.

Alternatively I can use C++ (and OpenCV) to access and process images and use Smalltalk to build a GUI but that would defeat the purpose of me trying to use SmallTalk to begin with.

I appreciate your help.
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: webcam images for image processing

Stephane Ducasse-3
- First welcome and do not hesitate to ask any question. 

I know that we have a binding for openCV (dimitry I do not remember) demoes it at ESUG 2014 at Brescia (check the videos on youtube). 

- Second you should use uFFI to talk to the drivers. There is a tutorial in PharoInProgress (I have to run)

Now this is somehow related... check this fun small project made to access public webcam

Stef

PS: it is Smalltalk :)

On Fri, Dec 30, 2016 at 12:49 AM, dyfroedd <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hi

I'm fairly new to SmallTalk and so impressed with the programming style as
it helps me visually understand how the classes are interrelated etc.

I would love to use SmallTalk (Squeak or Pharo) for some image processing. I
can create my own processing methods and kernels but have had problems
accessing the images from a  webcam. I have stumbled at this most basic
step.   Can anyone help me (I am new to SmallTalk) to access a webcam on a
mac please?