classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Croquet / Smalltalk

Rémi MARENCO
Hello !

I'm a french student, and for my placement in England, I need to work on Croquet.

But I have some problems. I have already studied dmu.com, squeakbyexample, ofset and croquet consortium but I don't know how to do my stuff.

In fact, I want to create two Croquet worlds. The first one will send to the second a xml document. When the second receive it, it opens a 2D portal and a form appears with fields already fill in by the XML document.

I have created a first form, a xml parser (a simplification) script but I don't know how to :

- Connect to a world (by the workspace)

- Send an object to a world (My XML document)
- Create an automatic script which be launched when we receive the XML document.
Thanks a lot,
Rémi Marenco

Discutez sur Messenger où que vous soyez ! Mettez Messenger sur votre mobile !
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Croquet / Smalltalk

Darius Clarke
Hi Rémi,

To help us answer your question perhaps you could let us know which of Croquet's attributes helped you select it for your projects. Is it just the 3D, or is the the collaborative part? The reason I ask is that Croquet's claim to fame is that it parallel process the two collaborative 3D worlds. So if one makes a document in memory, even before it's saved to disc, it is duplicated in the memory of the other computer. So it's "sent" just in the process of creating it while the two worlds are connected. So, there's not time it's "received" as a trigger. In fact, every keystroke and mouse movement is "sent" between the two worlds. So, even if there was a trigger, it would be triggered on both machines at the same time. 

How to "connect two worlds" has been under rapid development lately which has made it a bit more difficult ... temporarily. Are you trying to connect two world on the same LAN network?

Cheers,
Darius
________