Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Parallel Smalltalk VM needs funding for release

Zak Fenton

Hi folks. This is my first post to this list so be gentle! Sorry about the length of this post, I hope it's interesting to anyone who reads through it all. Let me know if formatting/paragraphs are messed up (Outlook was a bad choice)...

My name is Zak Fenton, I'm a freelance programmer and electronics engineer from Australia with a particular interest in linguistics.

I've been working on a next-generation Smalltalk implementation capable of Erlang-like scalability and Lua/SQLite-like embedding. It's not based on Squeak, but I think this is probably the most relevant place to bring it up. (Sorry if it's not.)

It's already reasonably complete and stable. The language and base classes are full-featured, self-hosting and mostly compatible with Smalltalk-80, it has a multi-window GUI system (based on SDL2 and Cairo with CSS-inspired styling - not just another MVC implementation), an integrated help system, a unit testing framework, various platform extensions and libraries, etc.

As for the killer features - it's threadsafe (strictly one VM per thread, but capable of managing many VMs simultaneously), it's embeddable (can be used in any C/C++ application, can probably run with under 1MB of RAM, no filesystem required - can stream VM images through arrays or custom channels), and it has a Unix-like "system call"/"virtual filesystem" abstraction layer with many extensions (this part is optional, apps can embed the VM by itself or bring whatever extensions they like too). It should also work in a web browser (using Emscripten), but some extensions (notably threading) won't work there.