Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
29 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Recreating live coding in CPython 3.5

kilon.alios

Hey there as it says in the title I am trying to recreat live coding Pharo chracteristics in Python . One of the issues I have is live replacing of a method to an existing instance. 

I know how to do this in Python but that shown me I would benefit greatily from a more deeper understanding of Pharo live coding internals than I have at the moment which is only at the user level. This will help me avoid common pitfalls in a field that I am not experienced with. 

Have you guys written any paper , article or blog post in this area, explaining the internals of the VM to that regard ? 

I am also interested in time machine livde coding, meaning live coding that does not keeps you in the present but also can send you back in the past restoring the live state of old object instances in a specific time moment. 

Generally any guidance on the art of implementing live coding will be greatly appreciated. 

I don't care how this can be done in Python because I have already recreated a very basic live coding enviroment in Python and there is a lot of documentation about Python overall what I am interested only is the Smalltalk way of doing live coding but from the perspective of the implementors not the mere users. 
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Recreating live coding in CPython 3.5

Nicolai Hess-3-2

2017-10-11 12:14 GMT+02:00 Dimitris Chloupis <[hidden email]>:

Hey there as it says in the title I am trying to recreat live coding Pharo chracteristics in Python .

Now I am confused, I thought you already did this? In the other thread you wrote:

"From my experience around  100 lines of code are enough to offer most of Pharo’s basic live coding functionality"

One of the issues I have is live replacing of a method to an existing instance. 

And in the other thread you wrote: