Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
65 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: <Method Tags> (Pragmas)

Ralph Johnson
I didn't understand Hernan's response.  It complained about tags but didn't give any alternatives, and because I couldn't see any alternatives I had no idea what the complaints were about.  But Colin's message is much more concrete and provides an easy to understand alternative. 

If tags are a way of categorizing methods so that other tools can find them, an alternative is to find them based on their name.  The SUnit testrunner will automatically run methods whose name starts with "test" if they are in subclasses of TestCase.  When I studied OmniBrowser a year or two ago, I found the way commands were defined to be pretty easy.  The main thing making them hard to learn was lack of up-to-date documentation (class comments would be nice!) but commands were one of the easier things to figure out.

Another alternative is to rind them based on the protocol they are in.  SUnit tests are almost always in a protocol called "Testing".  The TestRunner could have used that instead.  The main problem with this is that Monticello uses protocols to specify packaging, though I think that was a bad design decision.