classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Volunteer/Work?

Jeremy L.
This post was updated on .
Hi, I'm currently a graphic design student with some web design courses thrown in.  I was reading an old thread where someone was questioning why Scratch was so much more popular than eToys and a lot of the comments by the gurus and community lead me to believe that, based on the changes since that thread to now, that eToys is still somewhat confusing, and seems to remain largely ignored as a result.  Even myself, who's not a professional programmer, but I did take every programing class I could in jr. and high school, found eToys (and to some extent SmallTalk) difficult to grasp.  Granted, I'm not the intended young student  that eToys is ultimately aimed at, but I noticed that even educators using eToys expressed concerns about ease of learning, elements of aesthetics which are either confusing or just not attractive, and most importantly the aspect of language and it still being required to really understand eToys.  

I have been essentially lurking around, poking sticks and prodding etoys and smalltalk alternatively, though recently I decided to just stick with eToys as it's more-or-less close to what would want to do with the workspace on a squeak image anyway and it's technically still smalltalk.