Do you want to accept???????? Discard???????

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
84 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Do you want to accept???????? Discard???????

Igor Stasenko

On 9 January 2014 11:10, kilon alios <[hidden email]> wrote:
I was the one that worked on CMD+L dialog. I posted my slice here and it was discussed. I tried to implement undo, but trying to understand undo was a pain in the ass. 

And yes Igor I am no pro coder, I code like 30 minutes a day max. I am a lawyer that tries to become a pro 2d/3d artist.
 I enjoy coding and an IDE that punishes me for my mistakes does not make coding enjoyable for me.

because punishment is a HUGE part of process as one of the stimulus for learning things you wouldn't learn the other way. Without it, i doubt you can learn anything at all.
You can give a candy to baby each time it does not try touching fire, and the only thing which baby will learn is that to get a candy it needs to pretend that its about to touch fire.
Only after baby will touch it, it can learn why touching it is bad idea.. no candies will help.

I think maybe an easy solution is to set all modals to a preference setting so they can be easily disabled, thus making everyone happy. 

Yes, that could be a way to go.

Igor I will be frank with you, coders have no idea how to design good GUIs. They see GUIs as nothing more than an inconvenience and extra coding effort from their part. 

really? i do not belong to those who think GUI is secondary. A well-designed GUI is very important for efficient workflow. Same as well-designed language, like smalltalk is.

They usually put out the excuse "I am no designer" yet the truth is that they dont care because they cant understand the importance of a great GUI to the user. Applications like Photoshop are rare example of good GUI design. 

you lost me on that. I never considered Photoshop as one that has good GUI design..